Visit our COVID-19 page for information and advice on the assistance available for NSW residents and businesses

The NSW Government has announced that the border between NSW and Victoria will reopen from 12.01am 23 November 2020. The current restrictions on movement across the NSW-Victoria border will stay in place until that time.

If your travel is not urgent or critical, you may want to consider delaying your journey until after 12.01am 23 November.

NSW/Victoria border opening

12.01am 23 November

The Public Health (COVID-19 Border Control) Order (No 2) 2020 is now repealed. As a result there are no longer border restrictions between NSW and Victoria.

This means:

  • permits to enter NSW are not required
  • anyone who had a permit no longer needs to comply with any condition of the permit (such as self-isolation)
  • NSW residents returning from Victoria or ‘Victorian education visitors’ do not have to quarantine when they arrive in NSW
  • anyone who is in quarantine as a result of having been in Victoria in the 14 days prior to their arrival in NSW, can leave quarantine after 12.01am 23 November
  • anyone returning from Victoria who was subject to an exemption under the Border Control Order or Air Transportation Quarantine Order, no longer needs to comply with any condition of that exemption (such as self-isolation).

Note: The Public Health (COVID-19 Self-Isolation) Order (No 4) 2020 – PDF will continue to place restrictions on people who have been diagnosed with COVID-19 and close contacts of people diagnosed with COVID-19.

NSW/South Australia border

For travellers wishing to enter NSW from South Australia, please visit Complete a NSW entry declaration form.