The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is an Australia-wide scheme. It is designed to help participants get the support they need so their skills and independence can improve over time.

To be eligible for the NDIS you must:

  • be an Australian citizen or hold a Permanent or a Special Category visa
  • be aged between 7 and 65
  • have a permanent and significant disability.

NDIS funding is provided directly to the individual.

To find out how the scheme works, who your NSW Local Area Coordinator is, and how to go about applying, visit the NDIS website.

Last updated: 8 May 2024

Rate the information on the page