This licence covers over 300 types of native animals listed on the NSW Native Animal Keepers' Species List as class 1 or basic:

  • amphibian class A1
  • bird class B1
  • mammal class M1
  • reptile class R1.


What you need

  • your concession card details (if applicable)
  • the species code as identified in the NSW Native Animal Keepers' Species List
  • your payment.

To make sure you have all the information and documents you need to complete your application, visit the Department of Planning and Environment.

How to apply

  1. Check the eligibility requirements.
  2. Gather the required information.
  3. Select the 'Apply online' button.
  4. Log in or create an account.
  5. Follow the prompts to apply for a native animal keeper licence.

More information

Before you can upgrade to an advanced class native animal keeper licence, you will need to:

Payment methods

You can pay online by credit or debit card (Mastercard or Visa).

Last updated: 18 June 2024

Rate the information on the page